Ain’t No Valentine, Bih!

“Ain’t No Valentine, Bih!” -Plies 

Yes, I said it and what? Let me start off by saying that I only have one memorable Valentine’s Day in my adult life. Sad truth. As much as the media advertises chocolate, flowers, jewelry and fluffy toys, some men are still clueless. So instead of celebrating your love for each other you start planning your exit strategy because you’re disappointed. Scrolling through social media isn’t any better, it creates the perfect storm of the haves and the have nots.

If you are in a relationship with someone don’t limit your love and admiration for your partner on February 14th. Love isn’t based on time. Show your love by giving gifts, quality time, words of affirmation, acts of service (devotion – monogamy) and physical touch.  These are called The 5 Love Languages by Gary Chapman. In his book he gives you ways to express and experience love.

I took the test and here’s how my Love Languages rank:

  1. Quality Time
  2. Words of Affirmation
  3. Physical Touch
  4. Acts of Service
  5. Receiving Gifts

Quality time is important to me because I don’t need all of his time, just his undivided attention when I’m in his presence.  That’s not too much to ask, right?! When the lucky guy comes into my life, he will save a lot of money because receiving gifts was last on my damn list.

I say all this to say, love is a beautiful thing. It’s something that is indescribable, embrace your partner and cherish each other all the time not just Valentine’s Day, Bih!